Winter light

Light at the end of the path (6" x 8" acrylic on board)

Light at the end of the path (6″ x 8″ acrylic on board)

Happy New Year!

It has been cloudy and wet here so far this Winter and sunshine has been in short supply.  However when the sun comes out the light can be pretty special, especially with the sun so low in the sky.  I have seen some fantastic sunrises and sunsets in recent weeks, some of which I hope to include in future paintings.

To kick off 2016 here’s a small painting recording that low light early in the morning and the dazzling effect of walking towards the sun.  I had no sketch book with me at the time (I was doing the school run!) but managed to take a number of photos on my my mobile phone.

Leave a Reply

