The advance party

The advance party

The advance party (6″ x6″ acrylic on board)

It’s been a gloriously sunny Autumn day and this morning I went out collecting conkers.  I just love their colour and shine.  I am told that a bowl of conkers keeps the spiders away.  Probably an old wives tale but I will experiment and let you know!

I always find setting up a still life a challenge and this was no different.  How do you arrange conkers to look ‘natural’ and avoid them all lining up as if on parade? The conker on the bottom right appeared to be bravely marching towards me whilst the others lagged behind.  Hence the title.  I think I might have had too much sun….

Leave a Reply

