Experimenting with collage

December. Frosty morning at The Groves (12" x 12" mixed media on mountboard)

December. Frosty morning at The Groves (12″ x 12″ mixed media on mountboard)

I’ve been experimenting a little with collage as part of a mixed media approach and combining this with a very limited palette of colours.  I very much admire the work of Mike Bernard RI  http://mikebernardri.com/ who paints landscapes in a semi-abstract style and uses collage extensively in combination with acrylic inks.

This image was inspired by the view I had a few weeks ago from the suspension bridge in Chester over the riverside known as ‘The Groves’. There had been a hard frost and what struck me was the contrast between the cool areas of frost and shadow and the warm areas hit by the early morning sun.  The challenge I set myself was to make the image sufficiently representational to ‘make sense’ but to deliberately avoid too much detail and exploit the contrast in colours and textures.  This painting had the kitchen sink thrown at it – collage, then acrylic inks and acrylic paint, applied by print roller, card, finger, palette knife and (occasionally) brush! And I only used four colours. I confess to finding the collage and ink combination very tricky and I am not sure if it is something I will repeat.  However the collage does add ‘something’ which I find quite interesting.

Leave a Reply

