Tree study. February morning. Burghley

Tree study. February morning. Burghley (6" x 8" oil on board)

Tree study. February morning. Burghley (6″ x 8″ oil on board)

Here’s the second of the small plein air pieces I painted at Burghley last week.  There must be thousands of old trees in Burghley Park, many of them adorned with mistletoe, so it is easy for me to find subject matter everywhere! However last week I only had a short amount of time and a small board so I concentrated on trying to capture a small stand of trees which was being lit by the low sun. There were fantastic shapes – a couple of fallen trunks and some amazing twisted branches.  I was also treated to deer grazing in the field! The best I could do that morning was to capture an impression of shape and colour.  I may work this and the first painting up a little larger to explore the subject further.

 

Leave a Reply

